PDA

View Full Version : How to make face frame stock with a track saw

CarlB
06-02-2010, 12:02 AM
Hello all; I've been lurking here for a while and decided to finally post some of my questions. :) I am relatively new to woodworking and am looking for a way to cut wood for cabinet-style projects (bookshelves, dressers, etc.). I really like the idea of a track saw, especially since I have very little room in my "shop" (a one-car garage that my wife wants to park her car in someday, once we clear out all the boxes of junk...). I don't think I can afford a PBB (and not sure I have the space for one, anyway). I've purchased an STK and am wanting to (eventually) get a track saw to go with it.

I'm trying to think how I would use a track saw for various tasks I would need to do in order to make my projects. Some things are obvious, but others, not as much. Like, for example, how can I cut stock to make face frames, all a consistent width? Say, for example, I want to make 2" wide stock, and I have some boards that are of varying widths, from 2 1/4" to 2 3/4". It seems like the cabinetmaker system is a good way to do repetitive cuts. From what I've seen, "normal" use of the repeaters has the stops on the right side of the track. But I don't think that will work in this case, particularly in the case of the hypothetical 2 1/4" stock (not enough stock to clamp, unless I upgrade to super-smart clamps). So, I thought, just put the stops 2" to the left of the cut line, and there you go. But this places the stops under the track. Is this possible? Any other suggestions as to how to accomplish this with a track saw?

When using two repeaters (I think I'd need two for such narrow stock -- right?), how does one ensure that both repeaters are exactly the same distance from the cut line?

I have more questions, but I'll start with these. :)

Thanks!

Carl

Dino
06-02-2010, 12:36 AM
Carl, welcome to the forum.
Look at the site for pictures of the smart clamps and clamping systems.