PDA

View Full Version : Perfect Work In An Imperfect World

Ken
08-10-2010, 07:04 PM
What I want to discuss here is a method of thinking and working, ways of doing fine work in a situation where walls are not plumb or square. Situations where things are Way out of whack and it is your job to make it look good. Ways of dealing with problems that don’t create more problems, better methods of work.

It has been a while since I worked as a “professional carpenter”. I have worked in the boating industry on multimillion dollar yachts and in homes. For the past few years I have been the IT guy at a college. You might think that this is a big change. I went from carpenter to farmer to IT. In reality I look at it as one and the same. Each position has its unique challenges but it is all about problem solving, troubleshooting and finding solutions. These may be very different occupations but the same method of working and thinking applies to all.

In the thread I started about my kitchen cabinet build we got side tracked a little. I would like to continue that thought in this thread so that the cabinet thread can stay on track. It started with a picture of a Collins Coping Foot on my jigsaw…..

Coping - Coping is a great way to handle inside corners. Mitering often produces frustration when the molding does not sit right on the wall or is sucked in when you nail it because the drywall was not finished all the way to the floor. Outside corners still must be mitered but that can be preassembled before attaching to the wall/ceiling. Gluing and screwing the joint together from behind will keep it lined up properly and also keep it from opening up down the road. Most likely the other two ends will be inside corners so you can cut them to length and simply but the ends against the wall. Then cope the next pieces of molding. When coping it is best to fit the joint before cutting the molding to final length.