The Track Saw Forum  

Go Back   The Track Saw Forum > The Track Saw Forum > RipSizer

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2013, 09:12 PM
TooManyToys TooManyToys is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Jersey Shore (Not Seaside!)
Posts: 190
Default UEG question - Parts in box

Got my new UEG today. The instructions I got were only for setting up the base, not putting the tool together. Got the instructions from the website.

But it came with an off the track insert, fin insert and non-fin back insert. Is there supposed to be AC-2 inserts with the kit so it will work on the tracks? The instructions for the base mounting said they should be part of the kit.
__________________
Jack
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2013, 09:30 PM
Dino Dino is offline
Master Carpenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edison NJ
Posts: 5,099
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TooManyToys View Post
Got my new UEG today. The instructions I got were only for setting up the base, not putting the tool together. Got the instructions from the website.

But it came with an off the track insert, fin insert and non-fin back insert. Is there supposed to be AC-2 inserts with the kit so it will work on the tracks? The instructions for the base mounting said they should be part of the kit.
Just in time...
I have to visit Brick NJ tomorrow.


http://www.eurekazone.com/v/vspfiles...e%20v13-02.pdf


Trying to figure out what is best to include with the new base and UEG.
The UEG works off the tracks= no ac-2 needed.
BUT...new base on the new saw may require a new ac-2.
still debating...

The FIN is standard with the new base.
The "blank insert" needed when no FIN is used
and to drop your own FIN... IF desired. ( custom-made?)


The blank even helps to align the blade...
Helps to align the saw on the cut-line...

Looks like :
a. the AC-2 will be a standard part with the UEG.
b. more instructions and videos needed to understand the base.
c. better to offer everything "a-La-Carte" with new instructions/videos etc.

In some cases the user may end-up with 2-3 extra bases
and inserts that he may never use.

The goal of total integration was/is savings by versatility
and not by "force"....

working on it.
If you need a new ac-2...send us an email.
left or right?

tx
d
__________________
ycf dino
eurekazone.

Last edited by Dino; 08-20-2013 at 09:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2013, 11:23 PM
TooManyToys TooManyToys is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Jersey Shore (Not Seaside!)
Posts: 190
Default

Honk if you're going past 100 on the GSP.

Understand the quandary: include base parts only needed for UEG or include what is needed in the pathway for other tools. If others have not been getting the Ac-2 I'll just order one.

Dino, while I have your attention .... I bought my EZ tools back about a decade ago that included one 25", two 50", and one 64" rail. The 64" rail is a higher profile then the other three tracks. In another thread discussing this rail height difference you indicated you wanted the older track(s) back. Is that correct and if so how to do the swap?

I have ACE's to order and a few other items so I could coordinate items.
__________________
Jack
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-22-2013, 11:50 PM
WCWC WCWC is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 27
Default

I just got my UEG also and had the same question. Do the older AC inserts fit the new bases? If they don't than I will need an AC-2 also.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2013, 09:43 PM
Dino Dino is offline
Master Carpenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edison NJ
Posts: 5,099
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WCWC View Post
I just got my UEG also and had the same question. Do the older AC inserts fit the new bases? If they don't than I will need an AC-2 also.
If the saw is installed at the recommended place...no problem.
To use the old inserts with the new base/UEG...we have to remove the tabs.

more videos are coming.
tx
__________________
ycf dino
eurekazone.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2013, 09:46 PM
Dino Dino is offline
Master Carpenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edison NJ
Posts: 5,099
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TooManyToys View Post
Honk if you're going past 100 on the GSP.

Understand the quandary: include base parts only needed for UEG or include what is needed in the pathway for other tools. If others have not been getting the Ac-2 I'll just order one.

Dino, while I have your attention .... I bought my EZ tools back about a decade ago that included one 25", two 50", and one 64" rail. The 64" rail is a higher profile then the other three tracks. In another thread discussing this rail height difference you indicated you wanted the older track(s) back. Is that correct and if so how to do the swap?

I have ACE's to order and a few other items so I could coordinate items.
Hi TMT.
Best to use any track that don't work perfect
with the newer tracks...for many other jigs.
Or to use it without ( in your case) for dedicated cross cutter?

Because you have the issue with one track, send me
an email before or after placing your order.

tx
d
__________________
ycf dino
eurekazone.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-23-2013, 11:51 PM
WCWC WCWC is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dino View Post
If the saw is installed at the recommended place...no problem.
To use the old inserts with the new base/UEG...we have to remove the tabs.

more videos are coming.
tx
My old ones are for a right bladed saw. I am using a left bladed saw now, so they won't work. I have an older base for a left bladed saw, but that uses the blocks bolted to the base and not an AC2.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2013, 12:01 AM
TooManyToys TooManyToys is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Jersey Shore (Not Seaside!)
Posts: 190
Default

I'm guessing that it's the 64" track that is odd as with the saw bases I have it's only with the 64" track where the bases seesaw due to the height of the center. The original base was sanded in the groove area making it higher so the base would lay flat.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Track Height Difference.jpg
Views:	232
Size:	90.9 KB
ID:	5656  
__________________
Jack
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-24-2013, 10:04 PM
Dino Dino is offline
Master Carpenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edison NJ
Posts: 5,099
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TooManyToys View Post
I'm guessing that it's the 64" track that is odd as with the saw bases I have it's only with the 64" track where the bases seesaw due to the height of the center. The original base was sanded in the groove area making it higher so the base would lay flat.
Jack.
Give me a favor.
File the tips of the connectors and that should align the tracks.

I will post pictures.

tx
d
__________________
ycf dino
eurekazone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.