The Track Saw Forum  

Go Back   The Track Saw Forum > The Track Saw Forum > How-To

Old 01-22-2017, 08:54 AM

Default Nailers for Woodworking

A few years back I purchased one of those Porter Cable kits that came with an 18 gauge nailer, a 16 gauge nailer, and a crown stapler.

I've been reading about pin nailers and thinking about buying one. The use would be mostly for securing two pieces together while glue dries.

My question is, in your experience, are they worth the $100 or so? Or will the 16 gauge nailer work just fine?
Old 01-22-2017, 09:10 AM

I have no experience with them, but the Harbor Freight pin nailer gets decent reviews and you could buy a new one every time you needed it, and it would still take a while to get to $100.
Old 01-22-2017, 11:47 AM

Default Pinners - Availability breeds use

Pin nailers have several advantages:

1. the nail head is amazingly small = less to fill it (if filled at all)
2. unlikely to split small <1/2" trim and other small pieces
3. Easy to cut or put thru pins in a mistake with less marring of the wood
4. Cheap fasteners
5. 1/2" to 2" length
6. great to close up the gap on moldings....angle the pins for more holding power. (Thanks Rick)
7. can be used to lightly tack

Used mine this weekend to clean up door casing corners. Now, they will stay tight. They compliment my brad and trim guns.

Last edited by Jeff Freelove; 01-23-2017 at 12:39 AM. Reason: Rick was right
Old 01-22-2017, 11:49 AM

I use mine for tacking edge banding in place, stops it from slipping while I "clamp" it with tape. They are good for installing small trim as the pins are very hard to see - good for installing finished trim when installing a kitchen. The small size of the pin works for small sections where a brad nail would split the wood. I get a lot of use out of mine.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3578.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	99.4 KB
ID:	7017  
Old 01-22-2017, 02:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenk View Post