The Track Saw Forum  

Go Back   The Track Saw Forum > The Track Saw Forum > How-To

Old 01-10-2016, 12:30 PM

Default Hacker's guide to making EZ threaded connectors

DISCLAIMER:
One of the risks of sharing one's experience publicly, as on a forum, for example, is that what is shared may influence others to their harm. That is not my intent. My hope, in sharing about tapping and cutting aluminum, is that what I share will be an asset to those who read what I've written. What I share is what I've found to work for me. I hope that those more knowledgeable and/or experienced will chime in to better educate us; and, that all who read will do due diligence to do adequate research to their own satisfaction, so as to work safely. To that end, proceed at your own risk.

Making threaded EZ connectors.

First off: I am no expert. In my case, need dictated action, and this posting is an expression of how I go about cutting aluminum and then inserting threaded steel rods into that aluminum. I am hopeful that others will chime in with further tips, procedures, and experiences.

Secondly: safety is paramount. I've too easily hurt myself due to unsafe work practices. Please, don't do 'stupid'- take the time and effort to be safe.

Thirdly: have fun! If this is new to you, welcome- hopefully, there will be something of use to you. If this is 'old-hat' to others, please share your experience/insights with us.

Let's get going......

Pic one shows most of the items we will be needing:

-threadlocker to hold the threaded rod into the tapped aluminum;

-tap and dies. I am using 5/16-18 threaded rod, so that is the size tap I need. Each tap requires a specific sized pre-drilled hole. That information can be found online, or, it is usually listed on the shank of the tap. For 5/16-18, I need a 17/64 hole;

-marking utensils. Pencil and/or ink marker, as well as a punch, or, if you don't have a punch, a sharpened screw or nail;