The Track Saw Forum  

Go Back   The Track Saw Forum > The Track Saw Forum > Package design advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-10-2017, 02:27 PM
tofu tofu is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: nyc
Posts: 539
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sean9c View Post
IMO setting the cut width on the UEG should be as easy and accurate as setting the cut width on a TS.
Why not have the saw attach to the UEG the same way the SME sliding cross bars attach to the ez-one? Smooth gliding action and you could implement a reliable rule or digital caliper since you won't have to measure both sides.

Or maybe instead of moving the saw and dealing with fancy brackets or a new base, have a moveable fence complete with micro adjustment screws?


I'm basing this all on the assumption that those SSME rails on the ez-one actually remain square once you move and slide them
__________________
-Christopher

*Disclaimer: I know what i'm talking about 50% of the time, every time...
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-10-2017, 05:47 PM
sean9c sean9c is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,200
Default

In my experience the SSME sliding rails only stay sort of square when you've moved them, not square enough to be usable.
On a tool like the UEG the fence has to be pretty darn parallel the blade or it's going to drag. It'd take a pretty sophisticated system to have the Base move and stay exactly parallel the fence.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tofu View Post
Why not have the saw attach to the UEG the same way the SME sliding cross bars attach to the ez-one? Smooth gliding action and you could implement a reliable rule or digital caliper since you won't have to measure both sides.

Or maybe instead of moving the saw and dealing with fancy brackets or a new base, have a moveable fence complete with micro adjustment screws?


I'm basing this all on the assumption that those SSME rails on the ez-one actually remain square once you move and slide them
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-10-2017, 07:51 PM
tofu tofu is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: nyc
Posts: 539
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sean9c View Post
In my experience the SSME sliding rails only stay sort of square when you've moved them, not square enough to be usable.

Well there goes that idea.
__________________
-Christopher

*Disclaimer: I know what i'm talking about 50% of the time, every time...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.