The Track Saw Forum  

Go Back   The Track Saw Forum > The Track Saw Forum > Rant, Rate, Rave & Review

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2016, 08:01 PM
RISKDR01 RISKDR01 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: CHINO HILLS, CA
Posts: 35
Default Recieved my SME

in the comments section of the order I asked that it be cut into two 24" pieces. I guess the comments section of the order is not the right place for such "comments" since I received one 48" piece. No big deal but I need to cut it. My 12" miter saw has a 40 tooth Freud Diablo blade. Is there any issue cross cutting the SME with this blade. Seems folks cut this stuff all the time with 24 tooth rip blades. Maybe I answered my own question.

<<"The center inside the self aligning track of the SME offers an indicator center line for accurate drilling (of) EZ Tools Made from SME:">>. No, it does not. Not that I really need this but if I did I would be irritated.

Oh, even though this is in the "rant" folder I am really very calm and thinking in a soft voice.

Last edited by RISKDR01; 05-10-2016 at 08:31 PM. Reason: added info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2016, 11:06 PM
Dik Harrison Dik Harrison is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Evans, GA
Posts: 1,604
Default

It sure seems to me that it does indicate the center of the SME. But then I have not bought any in a long time. Has that changed?
__________________
Have fun...

Dik Harrison
Former Consultant to EurekaZone

Blog
YouTube
SketchUp Models
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2016, 11:16 PM
sean9c sean9c is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,244
Default

Your blade should work fine. I'm chicken so I clamp aluminum when cutting with a miter saw.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2016, 11:58 PM
RISKDR01 RISKDR01 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: CHINO HILLS, CA
Posts: 35
Default Dick and Sean

It has no line at all. Center or otherwise. They may have had them in the past but mine was smooth with no line. Perhaps the bean counters figured eliminating it could save 42 cents but forgot to tell marketing of the change. This is the kind of stuff that management needs to avoid. It can piss people off and that is never good.

I cut it and yes I did clamp it very well on both ends (belt and suspenders). It cut very nicely. I went slower than I would with wood.

Somewhere in my reading someone (Dik?) setting the bridge bracket top 3/4" below the table top or was that the top of the SME that should be 3/4" below the table top? Also something about bridge being 8" from the table edge. Is that table edge to closest edge of bridge bracket? Fortunately all of this can be adjusted.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2016, 07:28 AM
Dik Harrison Dik Harrison is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Evans, GA
Posts: 1,604
Default

The B300 mounting bracket should be about 3/4" below the top surface, this makes the parallelogram open up a bit and makes it easier to lift the bridge from flat against the bench top.

Where you set the bridge assembly relative to the edge of the table is a personal choice, dependent on how you use the EZ-One.
__________________
Have fun...

Dik Harrison
Former Consultant to EurekaZone

Blog
YouTube
SketchUp Models
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.