The Track Saw Forum  

Go Back   The Track Saw Forum > The Track Saw Forum > Clamping Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2019, 01:53 PM
larryfoster larryfoster is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Western Pa.
Posts: 48
Default What clamps should I get?

With some of the discussions this morning on using my EZ tracks as a jointer, I decided I needed to invest in the EZ Clamping system.

I saw this video:
https://youtu.be/vrrjLYn-6WY

Then I went shopping.

I found the EZ Smart clamps and upgrades.

Trying to decide if the regular clamps are sufficient or if I should get the deep clamps.

My frequently faulty reasoning tells me to get the deep clamps because they would also work with thinner stuff but the regular ones would not work with thicker stuff.

Appreciate any insights.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2019, 05:39 PM
Ken Ken is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by larryfoster View Post
With some of the discussions this morning on using my EZ tracks as a jointer, I decided I needed to invest in the EZ Clamping system.

I saw this video:
https://youtu.be/vrrjLYn-6WY

Then I went shopping.

I found the EZ Smart clamps and upgrades.

Trying to decide if the regular clamps are sufficient or if I should get the deep clamps.

My frequently faulty reasoning tells me to get the deep clamps because they would also work with thinner stuff but the regular ones would not work with thicker stuff.

Appreciate any insights.

Thank you

I have the old style smart clamps so I can't guarantee that the new ones have the same capacity. My regular clamps will clamp a rail to a 2X4 when maxed out. If you require more capacity get the bigger clamps. The big clamps are somewhat clumsy to handle, that is the trade off for capacity. I have both and in the long run you probably will too. I would recommend starting off with the regular clamps and if you get into a project that requires more capacity then add the large ones.

If you don't have a power bench then get the smart clamp upgrade kit. It is a problem solver and does come in handy, but with a bench you don't need it. Mine are still used on the road when working at other peoples houses. I have enough clamps to leave the smart clamp upgrade kit permanently set up since reconfiguring hardware in the middle of a project is a waste of time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2019, 06:47 PM
larryfoster larryfoster is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Western Pa.
Posts: 48
Default

Thanks for that info, Ken.
My old fat fingers aren't as nimble as they used to be so I don't need additional clumsy.

I assume 4 is a good amount to start with?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2019, 07:42 PM
Ken Ken is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 423
Default

4 clamps is a good number. If you decide to get the upgrade kit 2 clamps can be dedicated to them.

I just looked on the EZ web site and it lists the capacity of the regular clamps as 2 1/2". The large clamps have 4 1/4" capacity. That leads me to another question. What is the cutting depth of your saw?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2019, 07:46 PM
larryfoster larryfoster is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Western Pa.
Posts: 48
Default

I don't know off the top of my head.

It's a regular circular saw with a 7-1/2" blade so I'm guessing 3+ inches
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-18-2019, 08:09 PM
Ken Ken is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 423
Default

Most 7 1/4" circular saws cut about 2 1/2 - 2 5/8" deep. From that you have to subtract the thickness of the saw base and the rail. The result is that most saws are maxed out cutting through a 2X4. So unless this is addressed there is not as much need for the extra large clamps. The work could be flipped and cut from the other side to increase capacity, but it will have to be lined back up perfectly. Fortunately I have a 10 1/4" saw to deal with the big stuff. Most people rarely have a need for the extra capacity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-19-2019, 01:25 AM
larryfoster larryfoster is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Western Pa.
Posts: 48
Default

That sounds about right, Ken.
Thanks for the clarification.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.