The Track Saw Forum  

Go Back   The Track Saw Forum > Applications > Woodworking Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2012, 02:06 PM
Dustin B Dustin B is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 88
Default Deleting Part of a Component

So pro has the wonderful model intersect tools. The annoying part is you want to subtract away part of a component. So you go ahead and use the subtract tool to do that. Problem is now it gives you a new component instead of editing all the components. Got any good ways around this issue Dik?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2012, 04:20 PM
Dik Harrison Dik Harrison is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Evans, GA
Posts: 1,604
Default

Dustin,

This should work:
  1. Right click the component you want to modify and save as.
  2. Temporarily make the component and what you are going to use to modify it a component.
  3. Right click the resulting component and save as to another file name.
  4. Edit the resulting file, and do the intersection process.
  5. Once you have the resulting model cleaned up. save the file as the same name as the original component you saved.
  6. Go back to your original model, make sure you have exploded that temp component, right click on the component you originally wanted to modify, and pick reload. Select the last file you saved and you should have accomplished what you set out to do.
I would definitely try this on a copy or something else before doing it for real. I don't have time right now to check, but I try it and report back when I get a chance.
__________________
Have fun...

Dik Harrison
Former Consultant to EurekaZone

Blog
YouTube
SketchUp Models
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2012, 08:29 AM
Dik Harrison Dik Harrison is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Evans, GA
Posts: 1,604
Default

Dustin,

Just ran across this plugin in the Sketchucation Woodworking forum. It solves the problem. You have to be a member and join the Woodworking User Group to get to it. I've attached a ZIP of the file here. I guess I need to get Phil to add RB files to what can be attached.
Attached Files
File Type: zip jf_trim_and_keep.zip (1.2 KB, 3 views)
__________________
Have fun...

Dik Harrison
Former Consultant to EurekaZone

Blog
YouTube
SketchUp Models

Last edited by Dik Harrison; 08-27-2012 at 08:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2012, 12:53 PM
Dustin B Dustin B is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 88
Default

Sweet, I'll have to try that out as it does sound exactly like what I want.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2012, 02:45 PM
Dik Harrison Dik Harrison is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Evans, GA
Posts: 1,604
Default

I tried it before posting, and it works as advertised. I hated having to make the group a component again.
__________________
Have fun...

Dik Harrison
Former Consultant to EurekaZone

Blog
YouTube
SketchUp Models
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-28-2012, 03:47 PM
Dik Harrison Dik Harrison is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Evans, GA
Posts: 1,604
Default

I just used it while designing a scrap bin to go beside my CMS. There are 12 bins, so there are 20 dadoes that need to be drawn. Using the shelves to cut out the dadoes, it took less than a minute to do all 20 dadoes. I love it, that is a real time saver.b All you have to do is select the tool, select a shelf, select a cabinet side, select a shelf, select a cabinet side,... eighteen more times.
__________________
Have fun...

Dik Harrison
Former Consultant to EurekaZone

Blog
YouTube
SketchUp Models
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.