The Track Saw Forum  

Go Back   The Track Saw Forum > The Track Saw Forum > Positioning and Measuring Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2018, 12:02 PM
JamesMac JamesMac is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
Default setup "guage" blocks

Hi All,

I see Woodpeckers is offering this as a one time tool:

https://www.toolnut.com/hand-tools/m...erial-set.html

I have a few Woodpeckers products and love them. They are very nice, and also very pricey. I see that they are offering setup "guage" blocks to assist in quick setups of tools etc. I can see how these would work with my SSRK and for setting the stops on my EZ1.

I am only a novice at this stuff and will spend the money if it is worth it, but if other alternatives are better, please let me know your thoughts.

I have a Dewalt thickness planer, and a decent caliper so I guess that in theory, I could manufacture my own guage blocks out of wood.

Here are my questions for the folks here....
1. would you purchase these?
2. would you rather make your own? if so - please elaborate on what kind of wood would you use, etc.
3. would wood blocks dimensions change with heat/humidity? or would the change be so negligible that it would not matter?

thanks for any help that you can give!
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2018, 01:52 PM
Dik Harrison Dik Harrison is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Evans, GA
Posts: 1,604
Default

I have and like WoodPecker stuff, but a good set of setup blocks can be had far cheaper than theirs. I have a set that I use all the time.
__________________
Have fun...

Dik Harrison
Former Consultant to EurekaZone

Blog
YouTube
SketchUp Models
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2018, 04:05 PM
sean9c sean9c is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,245
Default

This little gage block set is more than you need and it's $34.

https://www.amazon.com/PRECISION-BLO...398100&sr=1-12

This is a cool gadget, use it standing up or laying on it's side.

https://www.grizzly.com/products/0-2...-Router/T27467
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2018, 07:13 PM
tomp913 tomp913 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 250
Default

Why not use an Incra gauge?

https://www.incrementaltools.com/INCRA_Gauge_p/ig32.htm

Range up to 7", 1/32" increments and plastic, not steel, so it won't damage carbide tools.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.