The Track Saw Forum  

Go Back   The Track Saw Forum > The Track Saw Forum > Rant, Rate, Rave & Review

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2013, 10:37 PM
bigjohn1 bigjohn1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,365
Default USPS Canada

I hope this was a mistake but when I placed an order in for a base at 39.00
UPS shipping came up as 24 and change. Whem with USPS and Dino it was 25% what is this one 51% crazy lol got to be wrong if not I'm in trouble.

How has it been for others out there I know they are still working on the system.

This was a little bit of a shock but if it include our HST tax and duty not great but can see it being there if not and I could get hit at the door for more then really bad.

Of coarse there maybe a Canadian place to get soon we can only hope.
__________________
John....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2013, 08:30 AM
Bill Griggs Bill Griggs is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 354
Default

I sell a product that fits in a VCR tape, sized box. It weighes less than a pound yet costs $20 to ship to Canada. Shipping to Canada is expensive.

Bill
__________________
PBB, SRK, Ripsizer, Cabinet Makers, Makita 5104, CNC Router, Lathe, Milling Machine, LaserCutter. Blog http://makermasters.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2013, 09:33 AM
Bryan Parlor Bryan Parlor is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Default

[QUOTE=bigjohn1;31714]I hope this was a mistake but when I placed an order in for a base at 39.00
UPS shipping came up as 24 and change. Whem with USPS and Dino it was 25% what is this one 51% crazy lol got to be wrong if not I'm in trouble.

John
When the parcel arrives, UPS will ask you for Canadian taxes and a whopping brokerage fee in addition to the shipping charges you have already paid.

UPS (and Fedex) does not tell the sender about its brokerage fees so the sender might feel they are getting a good deal for shipping to Canada.

You can avoid the brokerage fees by paying the taxes yourself - a lot of work but at least you have the satisfaction of not letting them rip you off.

Call UPS with the tracking # and tell them you want to broker the package yourself.
When it gets to their depot in whatever city you live in, they'll call you and you can go down and pick up the paperwork from them.
Take that and your copy of your bill total to the nearest Canada Customs office. Pay the duty and taxes owed and they'll stamp your papers.
Then you take it back to UPS and they give you your parcel.

I void buying anything from the US unless it can be shipped USPS.

Let us know how you get on. Eurekazone should know the real cost of shipping by UPS.

Bryan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2013, 10:21 AM
ramasule ramasule is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 51
Default

Your brokerage will be around 23 bucks.
http://www.thefinalcost.com/shipments/calculate/
Not EZ

As for DIY brokerage, is it worth your time for 23 bucks to run around chasing papers and submitting them? Probably not, this is how they get the money. Just enough to really piss you off, not enough for you to do it yourself.

That $35 dollar piece will cost $100 all said and done.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2013, 01:02 PM
Dino Dino is offline
Master Carpenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edison NJ
Posts: 5,090
Default

guys,
were working nonstop to solve the issue.
back to usps for exports due to lies from ups.
they told us that our customers only have to pay $10.00 per box.
we filled the paper work for NAFTA.
Remember the trade agreement that is killed by money hungry corps?

BJ,
pick up your phone and say hello some times...
tx
d
__________________
ycf dino
eurekazone.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2013, 01:38 PM
sean9c sean9c is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,235
Default

We did a lot of international shipping. I was always surprised that shipping to NAFTA countries required the most paperwork. I could ship to anywhere else with half the paperwork. Never could understand why shipping to NAFTA was so complicated, I thought it was supposed to make it easier

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dino View Post
guys,
were working nonstop to solve the issue.
back to usps for exports due to lies from ups.
they told us that our customers only have to pay $10.00 per box.
we filled the paper work for NAFTA.
Remember the trade agreement that is killed by money hungry corps?

BJ,
pick up your phone and say hello some times...
tx
d
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2013, 01:53 PM
Dino Dino is offline
Master Carpenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edison NJ
Posts: 5,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sean9c View Post
We did a lot of international shipping. I was always surprised that shipping to NAFTA countries required the most paperwork. I could ship to anywhere else with half the paperwork. Never could understand why shipping to NAFTA was so complicated, I thought it was supposed to make it easier
Sean, Nafta was created to make it ez.
well.....ez for the thiefs and lairs .
__________________
ycf dino
eurekazone.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2013, 01:53 PM
bigjohn1 bigjohn1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Griggs View Post
I sell a product that fits in a VCR tape, sized box. It weighes less than a pound yet costs $20 to ship to Canada. Shipping to Canada is expensive.

Bill
Yes I understand this Bill don't get it we are right next door Crazy.
Dino had a flate rate that was much better for us here 50% is not a good deal from where it was. I do order from other places and USPS
comes out mutch better then UPS. You never know what the final bill will be worth UPS. And If you have a flate rate small box you better check USPS because if this cost 20.00 for the small one I think you can do better.

But then again if you customer will pay you have no problem.
__________________
John....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-28-2013, 01:58 PM
bigjohn1 bigjohn1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,365
Default

[QUOTE=Bryan Parlor;31717]
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn1 View Post
I hope this was a mistake but when I placed an order in for a base at 39.00
UPS shipping came up as 24 and change. Whem with USPS and Dino it was 25% what is this one 51% crazy lol got to be wrong if not I'm in trouble.

John
When the parcel arrives, UPS will ask you for Canadian taxes and a whopping brokerage fee in addition to the shipping charges you have already paid.

UPS (and Fedex) does not tell the sender about its brokerage fees so the sender might feel they are getting a good deal for shipping to Canada.

You can avoid the brokerage fees by paying the taxes yourself - a lot of work but at least you have the satisfaction of not letting them rip you off.

Call UPS with the tracking # and tell them you want to broker the package yourself.
When it gets to their depot in whatever city you live in, they'll call you and you can go down and pick up the paperwork from them.
Take that and your copy of your bill total to the nearest Canada Customs office. Pay the duty and taxes owed and they'll stamp your papers.
Then you take it back to UPS and they give you your parcel.

I void buying anything from the US unless it can be shipped USPS.

Let us know how you get on. Eurekazone should know the real cost of shipping by UPS.

Bryan

Thanks Bryan and your right I hate both of them and companies in the states keep using them and don't care because its easy for them and they don't care kinda I guess.

Maybe they had problems with UPS I don't know.
__________________
John....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-28-2013, 02:00 PM
bigjohn1 bigjohn1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramasule View Post
Your brokerage will be around 23 bucks.
http://www.thefinalcost.com/shipments/calculate/
Not EZ

As for DIY brokerage, is it worth your time for 23 bucks to run around chasing papers and submitting them? Probably not, this is how they get the money. Just enough to really piss you off, not enough for you to do it yourself.

That $35 dollar piece will cost $100 all said and done.
Yes I understand this also Ram I'm just saying it was not like this
before lets hope they can do something. Sometimes new is not better.
__________________
John....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.