The Track Saw Forum  

Go Back   The Track Saw Forum > EZ Forums Archive > How To

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2009, 07:39 AM
Archiver Archiver is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 140
Default Deep Mortises - Mike Goetzke

Anyone use EZ (power bench, SRK..etc.) to mill deep mortises? I'm almost ready to start an entrance door project and need to make 2"+ mortises in the stiles.

Thanks,

Mike
  #2  
Old 08-21-2009, 07:42 AM
Archiver Archiver is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 140
Default Dino Makropoulos

Hi Mike.

If you have the right bit (upcut) the rest is... easy?

SRK, Limit stops and a plunge router.
I try it before and it was very easy to do.
Here is a link.
http://eurekazone.com/gallery/EZ-Mor...th-limit-stops

You can even make it ezier with this.
http://eurekazone.com/gallery/How-to...d-tenon-system

enjoy.
  #3  
Old 08-21-2009, 07:44 AM
Archiver Archiver is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 140
Default Mike Goetzke

Thanks for the links Dino - I found the first but not the second. I'll just have to come up with a way to hold a hunk of 8/4 x 5" x 82" white oak under that table w/o it falling over.

I think the only EZ tool I don't have yet is the SRK stops. Looks like I need to do some shopping.

Mike
  #4  
Old 08-21-2009, 07:45 AM
Archiver Archiver is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 140
Default Dino Makropoulos

Mike.
Let me raise the prices first.

With the EZ System, as you know, it's all about material support.

good luck.
  #5  
Old 08-21-2009, 07:47 AM
Archiver Archiver is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 140
Default Dino Makropoulos

I'll just have to come up with a way to hold a hunk of 8/4 x 5" x 82" white oak under that table w/o it falling over.

Mike. Take a look at the pictures again.
  #6  
Old 08-21-2009, 07:48 AM
Archiver Archiver is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 140
Default Mike Goetzke

Ahh, I see you made several grooves to put the rail in so it can be adjusted up/down.
  #7  
Old 08-21-2009, 07:49 AM
Archiver Archiver is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 140
Default Dino Makropoulos

Mike.
In your case (80" long) 2 small rails in vertical position?
You can use one track for a stop and the other for clamping the wood.
Or... transform your smart clamps into limit stop/clamp.

Burt may jump in with some pictures.
Joe made few similar setups.

Have fun with TheSecretTool.

Always looking for a new name....
  #8  
Old 08-21-2009, 07:50 AM
Archiver Archiver is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 140
Default Burt Waddell

It looks like you are on the right track with the photos that Dino shared. If practical, I'd rather stay with the horizontal rail and remove the end stud on the clamps. That way the board can rest directly on the stud in the clamps and should have good, solid, direct support. That larger board may be a lot of weight to hold with veritical rails unless you use more than 2.

Burt
  #9  
Old 08-21-2009, 07:51 AM
Archiver Archiver is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 140
Default Joseph N. Myers

Mike,

Attached are a couple of pictures of a bench I build some 3-1/2 years ago ... and still in use! The number of dadoes allows for lots of different width boards to be worked on.

Regards, Joe

(Photos not available)
Closed Thread

Tags
door, mortise

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.