The Track Saw Forum  

Go Back   The Track Saw Forum > The Track Saw Forum > Guide Rail Systems

Old 08-22-2017, 07:21 PM

Default Anti Chip Edge

Perhaps someone can help me out. Im just starting out with a single 54 track that I just purchased through Rockler. The anti chip edge was somewhat difficult to install, but it did slide in all the way. I took a light climb cut on the strip and then cut it again deeper. All seemed well I had clean edges on both sides of the cut tops and bottoms. All I was doing was making some practice cuts and the next thing I know, the strip was pulled quite a ways through the guide and ruined.

Ive looked at putting a #12 round head sheet metal screw in the holes at the end of the strip. I thought that I would ask what I might have done wrong before I ruin another strip.

Thanks,
Mike
Old 08-22-2017, 07:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MHB View Post
Perhaps someone can help me out. Im just starting out with a single 54 track that I just purchased through Rockler. The anti chip edge was somewhat difficult to install, but it did slide in all the way. I took a light climb cut on the strip and then cut it again deeper. All seemed well I had clean edges on both sides of the cut tops and bottoms. All I was doing was making some practice cuts and the next thing I know, the strip was pulled quite a ways through the guide and ruined.

Ive looked at putting a #12 round head sheet metal screw in the holes at the end of the strip. I thought that I would ask what I might have done wrong before I ruin another strip.

Thanks,
Mike

Not your fault. They move around. Maybe humidity, temperature, manufacturing tolerance? Can't rely on them for cut line so make sure you mark it another way. Eventually, you might just remove it

*Disclaimer: I know what i'm talking about 50% of the time, every time...
Old 08-22-2017, 07:55 PM

Thanks - not what I wanted to hear. Not why I bought this system. Not happy.
Old 08-22-2017, 08:37 PM

Quote: