The Track Saw Forum  

Go Back   The Track Saw Forum > The Track Saw Forum > Router Guide Systems

Old 03-14-2010, 05:29 PM

Default Can the SSRK replace a router table?

Has anyone replaced their router table with an SSRK? It seems like it would be cumbersome to mount your material under the routing surface and would require more space since the router would have to travel the length of the workpiece.

Once again, I preface my question with the fact that I am new to woodworking and have never used a router table in my life. If it is easier or better to stick with the SSRK vs building a router table, I am very open to learning the techniques and methods.
Old 03-14-2010, 06:13 PM
Moderator - Cabinet Making

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterC View Post
Has anyone replaced their router table with an SSRK?

Because of some of the things that the SRK/SSRK do so well, I have reduced the number of router tables I have. I'll confess that my router tables are equipped with stock feeders.

It seems like it would be cumbersome to mount your material under the routing surface and would require more space since the router would have to travel the length of the workpiece.

There are two sides to this coin. The way you are suggesting that a router with the SSRK works, it would take 8' to route a 8' board.

With a standard router table, it takes 8' for infeed and 8' for out feed plus some space for the table. The SSRK can work in about half the space required for a traditional router table.

Once again, I preface my question with the fact that I am new to woodworking and have never used a router table in my life. If it is easier or better to stick with the SSRK vs building a router table, I am very open to learning the techniques and methods.
Starting from where you are, I recommend going with the SSRK. I think you can accomplish all of your routing with SSRK. Dino is currently working on some additional tunnel routing techniques.